Bet on the Smile Sprint Stakes

Bet on the Smile Sprint Stakes

Part of Calder’s “Summit of Speed” program, the future of the $350,000 Smile Sprint Handicap remains up in the air. In 2014, the race was cancelled when the “Summit of Speed” was shuttered due to conflicts with Gulfstream Park. Originally called the Miami Beach Handicap when it was inaugurated in 1984, the Grade 2 race gained a new moniker in 1999 when it was renamed after Smile, the 1986 Breeders’ Cup Sprint winner and popular Florida-bred champion.

Smile Sprint Stakes Racebooks

For horseplayers who want to get the most out of their investment in top stakes races like the Smile Sprint Handicap, an online racebook is the way to go. With a computer or mobile device, horseplayers have the opportunity to cash in on sign-up bonuses and competitive rebates and incentives, all from the comfort of their own home.

* REMINDER! – you must be of legal age in your state or province to legally wager on thoroughbred or harness horse racing. Please bet responsibly!

Smile Sprint Stakes Betting Odds

Bovada Racebook has gained a reputation for being the premier site for horseplayers who want to reap the benefits of an online racebook. With  Bovada, horseplayers have the opportunity to receive up to a 50% free bet bonus of up to $250 just for signing up along with competitive rebate offers of 3% on win wagers and 5% on exotics.

Did you know?

The Smile Sprint Handicap has yielded several horses who have gone on to major success in the Breeders’ Cup Sprint. In 2002, Orientate romped over a field of six rivals for trainer D. Wayne Lukas and parlayed that into a victory in the Breeders’ Cup later in the year. In 2010, Big Drama delivered as the heavy favorite and capped off a stellar season in the fall with a win in the Breeders’ Cup.

No trainer has been as dominant in the Smile Sprint Handicap as David Fawkes. The locally-based conditioner won his first edition of the race in 2000 with the favorite, Forty One Carats who also set a stakes record, completing six furlongs in 1:08.95. In 2010, he won with eventual Breeders’ Cup winner Big Drama and sent out Bahamian Squall to take the 2013 running. Several jockeys, Mike Smith, Wigberto Ramos and Ricardo Lopez, have won dual editions of the Smile.