Bet on the Swale Stakes

Bet on the Swale Stakes

The Swale Stakes is a Grade 2 sprint race for three year-old colts held at Gulfstream Park each February. The race is currently run at the seven furlong distance on the main track for a purse of $150,000. Run consecutively since 1985, the Swale Stakes has been won by such notable performers as Seeking the Gold, Easy Goer, Mr. Greeley and Lost in the Fog. Each year, the race draws some of the fastest and most promising three year-old colts in the country.

Swale Stakes Racebooks

Typically, the Swale Stakes is a race that offers excellent betting value, but horseplayers can truly maximize their wagering dollars when they select the right online racebook. Unlike betting at the track, most online racebooks reward players with sign-up bonuses, rebates, and other bonuses that truly enhance the betting experience.

* REMINDER! - you must be of legal age in your state or province to legally wager on thoroughbred or harness horse racing. Please bet responsibly!

Swale Stakes Betting Odds

Many contemporary horseplayers are busy people, but online racebooks make the Sport of Kings more accessible and more practical while putting money back into the pockets of the bettor. Bovada Racebook offers a lucrative bonus and rebate program that includes a 50% free bet bonus on new accounts with a deposit of up to $250. In addition, Bovada sweetens the deal with automatic rebates of 3% on all win wagers and 5% on all exotics.

2016 Swale Stakes Contenders

Despite washing out to an 11th-place finish in the 2014 Breeders' Cup Juvenile, all eyes, and most of the money, was on trainer Todd Pletcher's Daredevil in the 2015 Swale Stakes, with the Grade 1 Champagne Stakes winner bet down to 6-5 for his 2015 debut. Daredevil ran well just off the pace throughout the race, and finished 10 lengths in front of the horse behind him - the only problem was the somewhat overlooked Ready For Rye was almost three lengths in front, scoring the win at odds of 6-1. Daredevil next went on to finish 4th in the Grade 1 Wood Memorial, while Ready For Rye ended up dropping down as far as the AOC ranks before claiming a pair of minor stakes wins at Belmont Park.

2015 Results                 Win     Place    Show

1) Ready For Rye          $14.60   $4.60   $3.00

2) Daredevil                                  $2.60   $2.10

3) Senor Grits                                           $3.20

(Also Ran: Bluegrass Singer, Social Request, X Y Jet Scratched: Souper Colossal, Twotwentyfive A)

Check back closer to race day for the 2016 Swale Stakes contenders!

Did you know?

The Swale Stakes has recently proven to be fertile ground for Breeders’ Cup Sprint champions. In 2009, Big Drama set the track and stakes record in the Swale stopping the clock in 1:20.88 only to be disqualified and placed second. However, Big Drama would go on to win the Breeders’ Cup Sprint in 2010 at Churchill Downs capping his stellar career. Trinniberg won the Swale in 2012 en route to becoming the first three year-old to win the Breeders’ Cup Sprint since 2005.

The Swale Stakes has also launched other extremely successful careers. Lost in the Fog won the Swale Stakes in 2005 on his way to winning the Eclipse Award for Outstanding Sprint Horse the same year. Racing Hall of Fame inductee Easy Goer won the Swale in 1989 before his famous Triple Crown campaign rivalry with Sunday Silence. Easy Goer finished second in the Kentucky Derby and Preakness, before turning the tables on Sunday Silence with a dominating Belmont Stakes victory. From 1999-2001 the Swale was won, in order, by Yes It’s True, Trippi and D’wildcat – each of whom have achieved success as stallions. 1988 winner Seeking the Gold, however, is the most successful sire to win the Swale as his progeny include 18 Grade 1 winners. Midas Eyes holds the current seven furlong record in the Swale with his mark of 1:21.06 in 2003.